Weird bug, have a new HestiaCP installation (v1.10.5). When I edit a user, by example to change it package, and press Save I end up logged in as the specific user. I can exit and return to my own user, so not a real big deal.
Never had this in earlier version, is this a known problem already?
I don’t think that’s a bug. You’re impersonating the user to edit their settings as an administrator. When you click the save button, Hestia keeps you on that page so you can continue editing the user’s settings. If Hestia returned you to your admin account every time you clicked Save, it would be annoying and frustrating, especially if you needed to modify several settings.
Yep, that’s the way
As far as I remember, that’s how it has always worked, at least since the version I started using Hestia (1.8).
These are the last commits that modified web/templates/pages/edit_user.php since 2025, and none of them changed that behaviour.
c14350f40 | 2026-09-14 | Release (#5714)
1af7e057c | 2026-09-10 | Improves read-only mode enforcement (#5688)
750b122ce | 2026-08-19 | fix: back link and Access Keys button pointing to wrong user (#5635)
99fd9a41e | 2026-05-28 | 1.9.5 beta (#5350)
55ef65ff0 | 2026-03-10 | Add missing HTML/url encoding (5245-chunk11) (#5257)
dc8674932 | 2026-03-10 | Add missing HTML/url encoding (5245-chunk11) (#5257)
5bbefff55 | 2025-02-09 | Admin are unable to add access keys #4799 (#4810)
e88cf085e | 2025-01-03 | Remove jailed and add migration script to manually migrate beta servers (#4698)
For me it feels totally not logical. I am editting a user as admin (change name, mail address or package by example) and have nothing to do with other users settings. If I want to edit user settings, if would use the option to impersonate the user.
If you want to edit multiple users this costs a lot of extra clicks to logout from the impersonated user every time.
Not sure if you’ve seen it, but there’s a button for this: when you’re logged in as a user from the admin account, it takes you back to admin with a single click.