Fresh install very slow - possibly DNS misconfig or php crashing?

Apologies in advance for noobie questions as this is my first attempt at trying to manage my own server after years of using managed services from ISPs using CPanel, etc.

My hardware is an Intel Xeon E3-1230 with 4 CPUs, 32GB RAM, 2x2TB SATA HDD Raid 1 running Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64bit. I’ve installed a default Hestia Control Panel v1.3.1, created glue records for ns1 and ns2 with my domain host pointing at my server and created those records in Hestia’s DNS and changed the DNS Zone template to child-ns. All good so far (I think).

But, I’ve noticed after a period of uptime; say 1 day, HestiaCP becomes unusably slow. Like a minute or more between menu options. Also, I can send mail, but not receive it (this may be unrelated, but trying to explain all symptoms for completeness).

My non-expert gut feeling is this may be my misconfiguration of the DNS. It probably started when I chose the hostname originally, as not really knowing what the hostname should be I originally choose cp.domain.tld (domain.tld replaced with my actual domain). I then created a website for domain.tld and after encountering some problems with mail that said the HELO hostname didn’t match I used v-change-sys-hostname to update that to mail.domain.tld. Now I have three websites cp. mail. and the main domain.tld site and one DNS zone for domain.tld that holds the A records for all three, and I’ve added LetsEncrypt SSL for all of them too. Admin is the only user and all three domains appear under that account.

One thing I did notice when the system had gotten really slow, under the server list it was telling my all services had been running for about a day, except php-fpm which had an uptime of 0 minutes. As if php-fpm had kept restarting.