Hello, I'm new at this. I have a vps and I have created some custom name servers (dns) since outside of my server there is a domain that needs those name servers to point to the vps.

Hello, I’m new at this. I have a vps and I have created some custom name servers (dns) since outside of my server there is a domain that needs those name servers to point to the vps.

I created them two days ago but when I use the tool https://mxtoolbox.com/ I check them and they don’t point to my IP… it’s as if they don’t exist, does anyone have an idea?

Hi @alex_dev,

It would be easy to debug the problem if you share the actual domain name.

ok aztecahonduras.com

So, your domain right now is using 4 NS records;

$ dig aztecahonduras.com +trace -4 +nodo

[...]
aztecahonduras.com.     172800  IN      NS      ns3.aztecaservicios.mx.
aztecahonduras.com.     172800  IN      NS      ns4.aztecaservicios.mx.
aztecahonduras.com.     172800  IN      NS      ns1.f5clouddns.com.
aztecahonduras.com.     172800  IN      NS      ns2.f5clouddns.com.
;; Received 236 bytes from 192.52.178.30#53(k.gtld-servers.net) in 35 ms

;; Received 47 bytes from 107.162.176.221#53(ns2.f5clouddns.com) in 43 ms

And none of those dns server are able to resolve the domain, all are refusing the queries:

$ dig @ns2.f5clouddns.com aztecahonduras.com | grep status
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: REFUSED, id: 22530

$ dig @ns3.aztecaservicios.mx aztecahonduras.com | grep status
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: REFUSED, id: 43353

$ dig @ns1.f5clouddns.com aztecahonduras.com | grep status
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: REFUSED, id: 40957

$ dig @ns4.aztecaservicios.mx aztecahonduras.com | grep status
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: REFUSED, id: 2792

Could you please explain in detail how are you trying to configure the dns servers and records for your domain and what are the right ns servers that should resolve your domain?

Hi, thanks for your response.