How to add an additional OVH IP?

I am having problems adding an additional IP that I have contracted from OVH, when I add it from the Hestia panel, then I go to SSH and run “ifconfig” and it does not show it. I add it manually in /etc/network/interfaces (Debian 10), then I reboot with “systemctl restart networking” and run “ifconfig” again, now it shows… But I write the IP directly in the browser and I get a 504 error.

What is the correct way to add it?

I have never done this before but you have to choose the IP for the domains, and you should try to connect always to a DOMAIN and not an IP address.

So, create the DNS records for the new IP address.
Create a domain and select that IP in the panel
Try to see if it works

1 Like

v-add-sys-ip

1 Like

No Adolfo, don’t invent that everything is already invented.

1st - use ‘netplan’ as recommended by hestiaCP
2nd - ask correctly.
How can I configure netplan in OVH? :slight_smile:

And now I answer you, follow my instructions and you will have what you are looking for.

1 - reinstall your VPS
2 - configure the network to use ‘netplan’.

I did it like this in an LXC container and automatically hestiaCP adds the IPs without problem.
In the control panel you add the ‘failover IPs’ and hestia adds them automatically
I got this by following the OVH documentation

nano /etc/netplan/50-cloud-init.yaml

network:
     ethernet:
         eth0:
             addresses:
             -IP-SERVER/32
             nameservers:
                 addresses:
                 search: []
             optional: true
             routes:
                 -to: 0.0.0.0/0
                   via: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
                   on-link: true
     version: 2

IP-SERVER/32 == to the IP of the VPS
xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx == to the gateway

be careful… tabulations with spaces are important, if you break it it won’t work

The only thing that OVH does not document are the last steps, you must lift the service following these steps

netplan apply