RoundCube reinstallation

Hello, I’m new to hestia. I just setup a server and had some issue with the roundcube installation/webmail panel. I followed one of the instructions to use apt-get to reinstall roundcube but that looks to have deleted the database.

I have not found a way to reinstall roundcube and reinitialize the service. Is there docs or instructions on how to do so?

The error I have is:

DATABASE ERROR!

Unable to connect to the database!
Please contact your server-administrator.

Hi @johnv,

What problem?

You should not install roundcube using apt, if you did it remove it.

apt remove roundcube

As I don’t know what you did, just in case it exists, delete db, db user and one file in roundcube installation (Hestia script v-add-sys-roundcube will remove all later):

mysql -uroot -e 'DROP DATABASE IF EXISTS roundcube'
mysql -uroot -e 'DROP USER 'roundcube'@'localhost''
rm /var/lib/roundcube/index.php

Now install roundcube:

v-add-sys-roundcube

Change perms:

chown -R hestiamail:www-data /etc/roundcube/
find /etc/roundcube/ -type f -iname "*php" -exec chmod 640 {} \;
chown -R hestiamail:www-data /var/lib/roundcube/
chown -R hestiamail:www-data /var/log/roundcube/

Try to access webmail.

1 Like

Thank you for the response. I’ve run through this. I’ve run into the following error.

v-add-sys-roundcube

ERROR: Install done from apt source, unable to continue

Did you follow the steps I posted above before running v-add-sys-roundcube?

Yes, I did. I was able to get around and run v-add-sys-roundcube by removing /usr/share/roundcube

Continued with the instructions and it looks like the website is working. Thank you!

1 Like

root@admin:/usr/local/hestia/web# v-add-sys-roundcube
PHP Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Class “PHPMailer\PHPMailer\PHPMailer” not found in /usr/local/hestia/web/inc/main.php:434
Stack trace:
#0 /usr/local/hestia/web/inc/mail-wrapper.php(39): send_email()
#1 {main}
thrown in /usr/local/hestia/web/inc/main.php on line 434