Take out my wordpress site and move it to wordpress inside docker?

Hi,

Sorry if this is a noob-question, but I’ve been using Hestia for a few months and it’s super-easy, both for wordpress + email-server. But I’m also interested in kubernetes, docker etc so now my idea is that I would like to copy or take out the wordpress site from the existing installation and move it into a docker-container - or maybe I just run an existing wordpress-docker container and copy over the data files from hestia CP (which folders to copy)?

If I figure out how that works I can run k3s and experiment with load balancing - hopefully, right?

I’ve tried to google and search and I did find something related to what I want: Project to run Hestia in Docker - #10 by jhmaverick - and I might also need: Web domains and SSL Certicates — Hestia Control Panel documentation - but it’s still not clear for me if this is possible/easy or if there are problems doing it?

If I do this, the next problem to solve is extracting the email-server data so I also can run that on docker so I can load-balance the mailserver and e.g. upgrade and reboot the mailserver without downtime… In the end it means I’ll stop using Hestia-CP, but without losing my existing Hestia-data (wordpress data + mail data)… Could anyone please give your input/recommendations/thoughts to this project?

Thanks!

For a full wp migration you need:

• PHP code: WordPress itself, plugins, themes, wp-content - usually all the public_html files
  • Database: full database backup
  • Adapt the database connection to the new install by editing wp-config php

For email use imapsync

Thanks, yes email I don’t think will be a problem in any case (otherwise I think I once dragged and dropped from folder to folder within thunderbird)… Wordpress migration, I’m worried about…