Total install fail! v. 1.1.0 on Ubuntu 18.04 [solved]

I’m a little shocked. I’ve been using “the other CP” for around 6 years, and Ubuntu for 20+. I was expecting a seamless install, but have run into so many problems I’ve given up!

First of all, hestia fails to start after the install. Command used was
bash hst-install.sh --multiphp yes --vsftpd no --clamav no --port 9000 --hostname domainname --email [email protected] --password xxxxx --force

At the end of the install I get a message that hestia can’t start. systemctl status hestia gives:
Mar 28 05:16:01 domainname hestia[29441]: nginx: [warn] “ssl_stapling” ignored, issuer certificate not found for certificate “/usr/local/hestia/ssl/certificate.crt”
Mar 28 05:16:03 domainname hestia[29441]: nginx: [emerg] bind() to 0.0.0.0:9000 failed (98: Address already in use)
Mar 28 05:16:03 domainname hestia[29441]: nginx: [emerg] still could not bind()
Mar 28 05:16:03 domainname systemd[1]: hestia.service: Control process exited, code=exited status=1
Mar 28 05:16:03 domainname systemd[1]: hestia.service: Failed with result ‘exit-code’.
Mar 28 05:16:03 domainname systemd[1]: Failed to start LSB: starts the hestia control panel.

So I edited /usr/local/hestia/nginx/conf/nginx.conf
and commented out the two ssl_stapling lines.

Hestia still not starting, due to the bind to 0.0.0.0 lines, so I rebooted, and hestia started.

OK, now to log in. The password I supplied on the command line doesn’t work. No errors, the login screen disappears and reappears. I try the command line password reset. That doesn’t work either.
I tried the email password reset. That doesn’t work either!! I get an email saying NO LANGUAGE DEFINED.

At this point I’m not inclined to proceed any further. If the install doesn’t work without hacking at config files (which regular users wouldn’t have a clue about), and the fact that I can’t actually login after installing, I think I’ll just stop until things are fixed, and try Hestia another time.